Celebrating 125 Years

Dunmore Program

Dean Dunmore Moot Court Competition

We host the Dean Dunmore Moot Court Competition each spring to refine students' brief-writing skills and improve appellate oral advocacy.

This intramural appellate advocacy tournament is named in honor of Dean Walter Thomas Dunmore, who led the law school during one of its most prodigious periods of growth from 1910-1945.

Second and third year students enrolled in Appellate Practice work throughout the fall and early spring semesters to prepare their briefs and oral arguments. They then argue against each other in an NCAA bracket-style competition judged by faculty members, local judges and experienced practitioners. Traditionally, the final round of each year's Dunmore Competition is judged by distinguished federal and state judges and justices.

Recent final round judges have included the Hon. John J. McConnell, U.S. District Court for the District of Rhode Island; the Hon. Melody Stewart, Ohio Court of Appeals for the Eighth District; and the Hon. Mary Jane Trapp, former judge of the Ohio Court of Appeals for the Eleventh District; and the Hon. Maureen O'Connor, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio, to name a few.

2017 Dunmore Problem

This years problem involves a teacher bringing suit against her former employer — a local school district — for violating the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADAAA), as well as a claim for defamation against the school district stemming from the teachers termination. Students are tasked with representing either the teacher or the school district, and arguing on appeal either in support of, or in opposition to, the trial courts grant of partial summary judgment for the school district with respect to the ADAAA claim.

2017 Dean Dunmore Moot Court Competition Problem


Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Law School Moot Courtroom
Saturday, April 8, 2017

Contact Info

Moot Court
11075 East Blvd. Cleveland, Ohio 44106
Email: dunmoremootcourt@gmail.com
Get the latest news from CWRU Law directly to your inbox